Blue Ocean

本章节涵盖了Blue Ocean 功能的所有方面,包括:

本章节使用与所有技能水平的Jenkins用户,但初学者可能需要参阅 Pipeline 的某些章节,以了解Blue Ocean章节 包含的一些主题。

有关Jenkins用户手册的概述,请参阅 用户手册概述.

什么是 Blue Ocean?

Blue Ocean 重新思考Jenkins的用户体验,从头开始设计Jenkins Pipeline, 但仍然与自由式作业兼容,Blue Ocean减少了混乱而且进一步明确了团队中每个成员 Blue Ocean 的主要特性包括:

  • 持续交付(CD)Pipeline的 复杂可视化 ,可以让您快速直观地理解管道状态。

  • Pipeline 编辑器 - 引导用户通过直观的、可视化的过程来创建Pipeline,从而使Pipeline的创建变得平易近人。

  • 个性化 以适应团队中每个成员不同角色的需求。

  • 在需要干预和/或出现问题时 精确定位 。 Blue Ocean 展示 Pipeline中需要关注的地方, 简化异常处理,提高生产力

  • 本地集成分支和合并请求, 在与GitHub 和 Bitbucket中的其他人协作编码时实现最大程度的开发人员生产力。

开始使用 Blue Ocean, 请参照 Getting started with Blue Ocean.


常见问题

为什么需要 Blue Ocean?

世界已经从开发者的纯粹功能性工具转向了开发人员工具,成为“开发者体验”的一部分, 也就是说,它不再是单一的工具,而是开发者全天使用的许多工具,以及它们如何协同工作以实现对开发人员有利的 工作流程-这就是“开发者体验”

像Heroku,Atlassian和Github这样的开发工具公司已经提高了业界认为的良好开发者体验的标准,开发人员也越来越期望获得优秀的设计 。近年来,开发者越来越被那些不仅功能强大,而且能够无缝地融入工作流程中,使用起来很愉悦的工具所吸引。这种转变代表了更高的设计 和用户体验标准。Jenkins需要改善以达到这个更高的标准。

创建可视化CD pipeline 对于很多Jenkins用户来说非常有价值,为了满足他们的需求,Jenkins社区已经创建了超过5个插件。 这表明需要重新审视目前Jenkins如何表达这些概念,并将交付pipeline视为Jenkins用户体验的中心主题。

这不仅仅是持续交付概念,而且是开发人员每天使用的工具 - Github,Bitbucket,Slack,HipChat,Puppet或Docker。 它不仅仅是Jenkins - 而是涵盖了多种工具的,围绕Jenkins的开发者工作流程。

新团队几乎没有时间积累自己的Jenkins经验 - 他们希望更快地发布更好的软件来缩短上市时间。 总结以上经验,Jenkins体验是我们可以与Jenkins用户和贡献者社区共同努力的方式。随着时间的推移,开发者对良好用户体验变化的期望和 Bule Ocean的使命将是Jenkins做出回应。

Jenkins社区已经倾注了大量的汗水和眼泪到构建现有最具技术优势和可扩展性的软件自动化工具。现在如果不采取任何行动,想改变 开发者体验,怕是只能邀请其他人 - 闭源 - 来做了。


名字由来?

Blue Ocean 这个名字来自书籍 Blue Ocean Strategy 它不是在有争议的空间内查看战略问题,而是在更大的无争议的空间中查看问题。简单来说, 引用冰球传奇人物 Wayne Gretzky的话: “滑到冰球将要到达的位置,而不是冰球的位置”。

Blue Ocean 支持自由风格作业吗?

Blue Ocean 旨在为pipeline 提供绝佳的体验,并与您已在Jenkins实例上配置的任何自由式作业兼容。但是,您将不会受益于为 管道构建的任何功能 - 例如:管道可视化

由于 Blue Ocean的设计是可扩展的,Jenkins社区有可能在未来扩展蓝海以支持其他作业类型

这对于 Jenkins 经典UI来说意味着什么?

随着Blue Ocean的成熟,用户回到经典UI的理由将越来越少。阅读 in Pipeline入门中关于经典UI的更多信息。

例如,Blue Ocean的早期版本主要针对pipeline 作业。您能够在Blue Ocean中看到您现有的非Pipeline作业,但可能在一段时间 内无法在Blue Ocean UI中配置他们。这意味着用户将不得不跳转到经典UI来配置pipeline以外的pipeline/item 作业。.

可能会有更多了例子,这就是经典用户界面被长期保留很重要的原因。

这对插件来说以为着什么?

可扩展性是Jenkins的核心特性,因此,扩展Blue Ocean UI非常重要。 `<ExtensionPoint name=..>`可以被用作Blue Ocean的标记,为插件流出位置来作用于Blue Ocean UI(即插件可以拥有自己的Blue Ocean 扩展点,就像现在在Jenkins里面一样),到目前为止,Blue Ocean 本身也是基于这些扩展点实现的。

扩展程序通常由插件提供,但是,插件开发者需要引入一些额外的javaScript 以关联Blue Ocean扩展点,为 Blue Ocean用户体验做出贡献。

目前使用了哪些技术?

Blue Ocean 本身是Jenkins插件的集合。有一个关键的差别 - Blue Ocean 为HTTP请求提供了自己的端点, 并通过不同的路径提供了HTML / JavaScript,而没有现有的Jenkins UI标记/脚本。 React.js 和 ES6 用于提供Blue Ocean的JavaScript 组件。受到这个优秀的开源项目的启发 (在博客 Building Plugins for React Apps 中了解更多内容), <ExtensionPoint> 允许来自任何Jenkins插件的扩展(仅限于JavaScript),并且它们是否能够正确加载是完全独立的。

从哪里可以找到源码

源代码可以在GitHub上找到

加入社区

通过以下方式加入社区:

  1. Gitter联系社区和开发者团队 blueocean plugin

  2. blueocean-plugin component in JIRA请求功能或报告错误。

  3. Jenkins 用户邮件列表订阅并提问。

  4. 开发者? 我们已经 标记了一些 对于Blue Ocean开发者来说很好的 问题 。不要忘记Gitter聊天和自我介绍



反馈修改意见?

如果对此页的内容有修改意见,请通过下面的快速表格 快速表单反馈.

或者,你不想填表单,只需填写你要反馈的内容

    


看已有的反馈 这里.

Blue Ocean

This chapter will cover all aspects of Blue Ocean, from the Dashboard, to viewing branches and results from individual Pipeline runs, to using the Visual Editor to modify Pipelines as code.

This chapter is intended for Jenkins users of all skill levels, but beginners may need to refer to some sections of "Using Jenkins" to understand some topics covered in this chapter.

If you are not yet familiar with Jenkins terminology and features, start with Getting Started with Jenkins.

What is Blue Ocean?

Blue Ocean rethinks the user experience of Jenkins. Designed from the ground up for Jenkins Pipeline, but still compatible with Freestyle jobs, Blue Ocean reduces clutter and increases clarity for every member of the team.

  • Sophisticated visualizations of continuous delivery (CD) Pipelines, allowing for fast and intuitive comprehension of pipeline’s status.

  • Pipeline editor makes creation of Pipelines approachable by guiding the user through an intuitive and visual process to create a Pipeline.

  • Personalization to suit the role-based needs of each member of the team.

  • Pinpoint precision when intervention is needed and/or issues arise. Blue Ocean shows where in the pipeline attention is needed, facilitating exception handling and increasing productivity.

  • Native integration for branch and pull requests enables maximum developer productivity when collaborating on code with others in GitHub and Bitbucket.

To start using Blue Ocean, see Getting Started with Blue Ocean.

Join the community

There a few ways you can join the community:

  1. Chat with the community and development team on Gitter blueocean plugin

  2. Request features or report bugs against the blueocean-plugin component in JIRA.

  3. Subscribe and ask questions on the Jenkins Users mailing list.

  4. Developer? We’ve labeled a few issues that are great for anyone wanting to get started developing Blue Ocean. Don’t forget to drop by the Gitter chat and introduce yourself!

Frequently Asked Questions

Why does Blue Ocean exist?

The world has moved on from developer tools that are purely functional to developer tools being part of a "developer experience". That is to say, it’s no longer about a single tool but the many tools developers use throughout the day and how they work together to achieve a workflow that’s beneficial for the developer - this is Developer Experience.

Developer tools companies like Heroku, Atlassian and Github have raised the bar for what is considered good developer experience, and developers are increasingly expecting exceptional design. In recent years developers are becoming more rapidly attracted to tools that are not only functional but are designed to fit into their workflow seamlessly and are a joy to use. This shift represents a higher standard of design and user experience that Jenkins needs to rise to meet.

Creating and visualising continuous delivery pipelines is something valuable for many Jenkins users and this is demonstrated in the 5+ plugins that the community has created to meet their needs. To us this indicates a need to revisit how Jenkins currently expresses these concepts and consider delivery pipelines as a central theme to the Jenkins user experience.

It’s not just continuous delivery concepts but the tools that developers use every day – Github, Bitbucket, Slack, HipChat, Puppet or Docker. It’s about more than Jenkins – it’s the developer workflow that surrounds Jenkins that spans multiple tools.

New teams have little time for learning to assemble their own Jenkins experience – they want to improve their time to market by shipping better software faster. Assembling that ideal Jenkins experience is something we can work together as a community of Jenkins users and contributors to define. As time progresses, developers' expectations of good user experience will change and the mission of Blue Ocean will enable the Jenkins project to respond.

The Jenkins community has poured its sweat and tears into building the most technically capable and extensible software automation tool in existence. Not doing anything to revolutionize the Jenkins developer experience today is just inviting someone else – in closed source – to do it.

Where is the name from?

The name Blue Ocean comes from the book Blue Ocean Strategy where instead of looking at strategic problems within a contested space you look at problems in the larger uncontested space. To put this more simply, consider this quote from ice hockey legend Wayne Gretzky: "skate to where the puck is going to be, not where it has been".

Does Blue Ocean support Freestyle jobs?

Blue Ocean aims to deliver a great experience around Pipeline and be compatible with any Freestyle jobs that you have configured in your system. However, they won’t be able to benefit from any of the features built for Pipelines – for example, Pipeline visualization.

As Blue Ocean is designed to be extensible it will be possible for the community to extend it for other job types in the future.

What does this mean for the classic Jenkins UI?

The intention is that as Blue Ocean matures there will be less and less reasons for users to go back to the existing UI.

For example, in the first version we will mainly be targeting Pipeline jobs. You might be able to see your existing non-pipeline jobs in Blue Ocean but it might not be possible to configure them from the new UI for some time. This means users will have to jump back to the classic UI for configuration of non-pipeline jobs.

There are likely going to be more examples of this and that’s why the classic UI will still be important in the long term.

What does this mean for my plugins?

Extensibility is a pretty core concept to Jenkins, so being able to extend the Blue Ocean UI is important. Based on some research, we worked out a way to allow <ExtensionPoint name=..> to be used in the markup of Blue Ocean, leaving places for plugins to contribute to the UI (plugins can have their own Blue Ocean extension points, just like they do today in Jenkins). Blue Ocean itself (as it is so far) is implemented using these extension points. Extensions are delivered by plugins, as normal, only if they wish to contribute to the Blue Ocean experience they will have some additional javascript that provides extensions.

What technologies are currently in use?

Blue Ocean is built as a collection of Jenkins plugins itself. There is one key difference, however. It provides both its own endpoint for http requests and delivers up html/javascript via a different path, without the existing Jenkins UI markup/scripts. React.js and ES6 are used to deliver the javascript components of Blue Ocean. Inspired by this excellent open source project (react-plugins) an <ExtensionPoint>pattern was established, that allows extensions to come from any Jenkins plugin (only with Javascript) and should they fail to load, have failures isolated.

Where can I find the source code?

The source code can be found on Github: